Français English
Français English

You can visit :

Click here and visit the official site of Port-en-Bessin for complete information!
Between sea and countryside , Port-en-Bessin is a small and authentic harbour village nestled in a ‘green bower’. Became successively a military stronghold, a seafaring city, a petroleum harbour, a trading and now an ‘artisanal’ and dynamic fishing harbour, Port-en-Bessin today lives to the rhythm of the trawlers toggle switch. Its docks come alive with the tides and the return of sailors who land their catches under the auction. It is also the ideal starting point for many excursions to discover the wealth of Normandy.
Not to be missed during your tour of the Normandy Landing beaches, the American cemetery of Colleville-sur-Mer shelters the bodies of 9 387 Americans soldiers who died during the D-Day Landings and the Battle of Normandy. These white marble gravestones, perfectly lined up on the field, overlooks Omaha Beach. Everyday, at 16h15 - from 16/09 to 14/04 - or at 17h15 - from 15/04 to 15/09 - you could attend the ceremony colors, true emotional moment when the American flag is lowered and folded.
Access to the centre is free of charge.
The « Pointe du Hoc », located between Omaha Beach and Utah Beach, form a sheer promontory towering thirty metres above a narrow pebble beach. At Pointe du Hoc, rockets and bombs turned the plateau into a moonlike landscape. This site is a testimony to the terrible battle that turn the plateau into a moonlike landscape between June 6th and June 8th. Built for both iPhone and Android devices, this GPS-enabled application allows you to experience the site with eleven steps of visit and seven points of interest.
Access to the centre is free of charge.
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Sed non risus. Suspendisse lectus tortor, dignissim sit amet, adipiscing nec, ultricies sed, dolor. Cras elementum ultrices diam. Maecenas ligula massa, varius a, semper congue, euismod non, mi. Proin porttitor, orci nec nonummy molestie, enim est eleifend mi, non fermentum diam nisl sit amet erat. Duis semper.
In the heart of the Allied assault sector, the German coastal artillery battery at Longues-sur-Mer offers an historical walk along the sea to see remains of world war 2. The battery was still operational on the morning of 6th June, despite the allied air raids in the night of 5th June 1944. It was disabled later that day by bombardments from allied battle ships and taken by British soldiers from the Devonshire Regiment the next day.
On 6th June 1944, Normandy entered History by becoming the biggest battlefield of all times. Come and explore old army bunkers, tanks and atlantic wall defenses along the different beaches : Utah, Omaha, Gold, Juno and Sword. Museums and commemorations places stand as forceful reminders of World War 2.
Port-en-Bessin
Port-en-Bessin

Near of Port-en-Bessin

Lots of activities to do around

Français English
Français English

Jetez un oeil à ce que vous pourrez visiter !

Cliquez ici et visitez le site de l'office de tourisme pour un maximum d'information !
Entre mer et campagne, Port-en-Bessin est un petit village portuaire authentique niché dans un « écrin de verdure ». Devenu successivement un bastion militaire, une cité maritime, un port pétrolier, un port de commerce et désormais un port de pêche “artisanale” dynamique, Port-en-Bessin vit aujourd’hui au rythme du va-et-vient des chalutier. Ses quais s’animent au gré des marées et du retour des marins qui débarquent leur pêche sous la criée. C’est aussi le point de départ idéal pour de nombreuses escapades à la découverte des richesses de la Normandie.
Incontournable lors de votre visite sur les plages de Normandie, le cimetière américain de Colleville-sur-Mer rassemble les tombes de 9 387 soldats tombés au combat. Ces stèles de marbre blanc, parfaitement alignées surplombent la plage d’Omaha. Tous les jours à 16h15 - du 16/09 au 14/04 - ou à 17h15 - du 15/04 au 15/09 - vous pourrez assistez à la cérémonie des couleurs, véritable moment d’émotion pendant lequel vous assisterez à la descente et au pliage du drapeau américain au son d'un hymne militaire.
Site en visite libre et gratuite.
La pointe du Hoc, situé entre Omaha Beach et Utah Beach, forme un promontoire rocheux s’élevant d’une trentaine de mètres au-dessus de la mer. Site remarquable, qui a été le théâtre d'intenses combats le 6 juin 1944, ce lieu évoque aujourd’hui ce qu’était une batterie d’artillerie. Une application GPS pour iPhone et Android, construite autour de onze étapes de visite et sept points d'intérêt, permet de mieux découvrir le site. Ouvert de 9h à 17h - du 16/09 au 14/04 - et de 9h à 18h - du 15/04 au 15/09 - un centre d’accueil vous proposera notamment la visualisation d’un film.
Site en visite libre et gratuite.
Registered at the UNESCO World Heritage sites, listed "Memory of the World", the Bayeux tapestry relates the facts from 1064 to the outcome of the Battle of Hastings during the conquest of Britain by William the Conqueror. This 70-meter linen tapestry has probably been embroidered by monks in the south of England around 1070 to adorn the Notre-Dame de Bayeux cathedral, true masterpiece of Norman Romanesque architecture.
Click here for more information about Bayeux.
Située au cœur du secteur d’assaut allié, la batterie de défense côtière allemande de Longues-sur-Mer constitue une promenade historique le long de la mer pour voir des vestiges de la seconde guerre mondiale. Ayant résisté aux bombardements aériens opérés dans la nuit du 5 au 6 juin, la batterie était toujours opérationnelle au matin du 6 juin. Elle fut neutralisée dans la journée par les navires de guerre alliés et prise dans la journée du 7 juin par les soldats britanniques du Régiment Devonshire.
Site en visite libre et gratuite.
Le débarquement du 6 juin 1944 sur les plages de Normandie fut la plus grande opération amphibie et aéroportée de tous le temps. Venez vous recueillir sur les plages de Sword Beach, Juno Beach, Gold Beach, Omaha Beach ou encore Utah Beach et ainsi rendre hommage aux soldats qui ont libéré la France.
Port-en-Bessin
Port-en-Bessin

Proche de Port-en-Bessin

Cliquez sur les photos pour plus d'informations !